British Shoegazers, Is Bliss Announce EP, “The Honeycomb Explosion”

Up-and-coming Portsmouth psychedelic shoegazers, Is Bliss, are set to release their second EP, The Honeycomb Explosion on May 19.

The three-piece band are signed to Club AC30, the independent, London-based record label know for its shoegaze sound and artists like Flyying Colours and Ringo Deathstarr.

The band consists of Jimmy Stuart (vocals, guitar), Dean Edwards (bass), and Sam Speakman (drums) and the trio are set to follow up the release of their critically acclaimed debut EP, Velvet Dreams.

The story of Is Bliss began when Dean saw Jimmy’s My Bloody Valentine t-shirt, which led them to the realization that they both loved bands like Slowdive, Spacemen 3, The Verve, and The Cure. Feeling need to escape rural Hampshire, they decided to form a band and added Sam on drums to complete their lineup, which officially came together in late 2015.

Velvet Dreams led to big things for the band as they were able to support Wolf Alice, Telescopes, Nine Black Alps, Mark Gardener and Robin Guthrie, despite only being together for about a year. The debut EP was produced by Pat Collier (The House of Love, Primal Scream, Swervedriver) and it was tracks like the psychedelic, steady “Ocean Blue” and the chaotic, bombastic “Morning Sun” that set them apart from the pack as they showed off their many different sides.

As for the band’s upcoming EP, The Honeycomb Explosion, the only cut we’ve already heard is “Into A Dream”, which has arguably the strongest (and most audible) vocals of any track the band have put out so far. Fans of Is Bliss will be no strangers to the fuzzy, psychedelic guitar sound and it’s worth pointing out that the track is 4 minutes long, noticeably shorter than some of the 8-minute or 6-minute monsters on their debut EP. The track builds up to a massive, climactic wash of noise that’s equally as disorienting as it is epic.

The new EP will be five tracks long, just like their first EP and you can stream the new track, “Into A Dream” below.

Having just supported The Jesus and Mary Chain in April, they have more live dates and festivals planned across the UK and Europe throughout 2017. As for the band’s debut album, it’s expected to be released later in the year.

The Honeycomb Explosion Tracklist:

  1. “Someone”
  2. “Alive (Baby Come On)”
  3. “Into A Dream”
  4. “Tomorrow”
  5. “Inner Soul”

Is Bliss Tour Dates:

Sat 22nd SOUTHSEA Record Store Day

Wed 17th LONDON The Islington w/ Flyying Colours
Thur 18th LEICESTER The Cookie w/ Flyying Colours
Sat 20th BRIGHTON Acid Box, Great Escape Festival w/ Flyying Colours

For more on Is Bliss, check out their links below:







1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s